Cynic: Day 8

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I stepped out of the bus and saw the Swiss countryside, I thought we must have stopped somewhere for gas or for our driver to rest. Then I realized the little cafe next to our bus was actually the Bad Bonn.

Before I even had a chance to sit down, the bartender offered me a drink and said that food was on the way. Bad Bonn was quickly becoming my favorite stop on the tour.

There was a very old cat roaming around the venue, too. One of the bartenders told us they had no idea how old the cat is, but that it was already there when they moved in twenty years ago. So, at twenty-two years old, I might be younger than the Bad Bonn cat.

After they fed us, they led us about four minutes away by foot to a beatiful lake where they took us out on a boat for an hour or two before we got back to the club to set up for the show.

The stage was so small it was hard to imagine a band who actually uses guitar amps and cabinets playing here, let alone Sunn O)))–who’ve played Bad Bonn at least once–or Pelican, whose set list I found taped to the wall backstage. This was Sean and Paul’s third time at Bad Bonn, so the size wasn’t surprising to them, though apparently the backstage/dressing room area was new. As you can see from this video, we made very good use of the dressing room.

During sound check I noticed our smoke machine making some interesting noises. It still worked so I kind of ignored it but I have a feeling this our time with this smoke machine is limited.

After many free drinks from Bad Bonn’s bar we made our way to Gorizia, Italy for the first of two Italian dates.

    • Brandon Scales
    • June 12th, 2010

    Wait one god damn minute. The Omeed I know dosnt wear shorts, this must have been a cruel jean cutting joke after those free drinks.

    • rami izadyar
    • June 12th, 2010

    wow! I think I would have loved that cafe and the cat.
    cynic chooses the coolest venues for their shows. Great pictures.

    • rami izadyar
    • June 12th, 2010

    I don’t think that is Omeed.

    • Mystique
    • June 12th, 2010

    lol that’s not Omeed.

    • Brandon Scales
    • June 13th, 2010

    Oh man, after closer inspection, that is for sure not omeed. Im glad to know omeed and his jeans are safe

      • Omeed Izadyar
      • June 14th, 2010

      Haha No, that’s not Omeed. That’s Tymon wearing his incredible hulk shorts, same hair though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

