The White Mice

Two days ago I ventured down to The Mountain Bar, my favorite spot in Chinatown  I was there to see Lesbian, but after waiting three hours for the late band to arrive, decided I just couldn’t do it any longer and went home. However, it wasn’t a total loss: I had the pleasure of being introduced to an absolutely mind blowing band, The White Mice. I am pretty big into grindcore and the like, and bands like this are why. Not only the music, which was gut-churning to say the least, but the theatrics of it all. These guys have been rocking the east coast since 2001 and putting in some serious work ever since.

From Providence, Rhode Island, this insane three-piece has assumed the lives of dirty, sewer-dwelling mice who seem to have gone insane at some point in the process of forming the band. With nineteen albums out on ten labels–not to mention a few self-releases–these guys just won’t stop. The level of sick, twisted humor is astounding. Tracks like ‘Cheesus Saves’ and ‘Rattarddead’ lead me to believe these guys know they’re funny.

But don’t take my word for it; see for yourself:

First of all, no three-piece I’ve ever known, or any band for that matter, has ever used circular saw blades and an oscillator in such a beautifully terrifying way. These are the things that nightmares are made of. Many people, including some I met at the show, are convinced that all of their songs are the same. To them I say: listen again. While it’s true that, to the uninitiated, any grind sounds like plain noise, I couldn’t help but notice how tight their tracks really were. They make a very strong effort to make their musical talents known. Once they’ve done so, however, they put on their disgusting outfits, turn on a few too many colored strobe lights, and try their hardest to assist you in relieving your bowls in either direction. Their set was twice as loud as any other band that played that show, and some how they were also the clearest. I assure you it wasn’t because they played more clearly; they didn’t. It was the fact that they are so well-practiced and so in tune with their musical goal that they didn’t miss a beat, string, or whatever button it was they were pushing to bring about electric chaos.

The White Mice continue on what seems to be a never-ending U.S. tour with a serious cult following. I might have to sign myself up and get me a pair of those black and white Nikes, because these guys are climbing my list of favorite grind bands. If you ever have the chance, try to catch one of their shows. For now, check out their website for tour updates, downloadable music, and plenty of videos.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

