Metal Blade Signs Hammers of Misfortune

Hammers of Misfortune announced today that they have signed with Metal Blade Records. After not really knowing what the label situation with this band was for a while, this comes as a bit of a surprise.

Metal Blade will be re-issuing all four Hammers of Misfortune full-length albums this year with a new studio album to follow in 2011. That means not only can you finally get yourself a copy of The Bastard, but we also get a new Hammers of Misfortune record.

This band has been one of my favorites ever since I first heard The August Engine years ago and I’m happy to see them getting some more exposure because they deserve it more than most bands. Everyone should own every one of their records and it looks like Metal Blade agrees. Maybe if we all complain enough we can get Metal Blade to reissue the Unholy Cadaver demo too!

After several changes, the current Hammers of Misfortune line-up is:

John Cobbett (guitar)
Chewy Marzolo (drums)
Sigrid Sheie (keys, vocals, flute)
Max Barnett (bass)
Leila Abdul-Rauf (guitar, vocals)

We’ll keep you posted on the reissues and the new album as details come out.

Click here for the full press release.

Read our recent article about Hammers of Misfortune’s cover of “Freebird” here.

Check out the band on their official website or their Myspace.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: