New Cathedral Album Artwork, Tracklisting

Doom metal legends Cathedral are back with their ninth full-length album, The Guessing Game. It was produced, recorded, and mixed late last year by our friend at Freshface, Warren Riker, who also did the band’s last album, The Garden of Unearthly Delights. The artwork was handled, once again, by Dave Patchett.

Having been lucky enough to have heard this already, I can tell you this album will not disappoint. There is a bit more of the ’70s rock vibe creeping in here but it does still get incredibly heavy and dark as well. I really liked what I heard and I’m pretty excited to hear the final product.

The Guessing Game is set to be released by Nuclear Blast Germany on March 26th.

A 2xLP version on purple vinyl is being sold exclusively through Nuclear Blast Germany’s webstore and is limited to 250 copies. This purple vinyl edition is available for preorder now.

A 2xLP set is being sold by Nuclear Blast USA as well, but I’m not sure it’s the same purple vinyl set, as they don’t mention anywhere that it’s colored or that it’s limited at all. They also don’t list a release or shipping date, and currently the item is listed as “temporarily out of stock.” But it does say that it’s “pressed on 180 gram vinyl for maximum heaviness!”

Click here to preorder the 2xLP purple vinyl edition of The Guessing Game.


01. Immaculate Misconception (2:24)
02. Funeral of Dreams (8:28)
03. Painting in the Dark (6:18)
04. Death of an Anarchist (7:12)
05. The Guessing Game (3:08)
06. Edwige’s Eyes (7:08)
07. One Dimensional People (2:30)
08. Casket Chasers (6:41)
09. La Noche Del Buque Maldito (aka Ghost Ship of the Blind Dead) (5:46)
10. The Running Man (8:46)
11. Requiem for the Voiceless (9:50)
12. Journey’s Into Jade (10:36)

Total run time –  78:47


Click here for updated info about this album.

  1. March 3rd, 2010

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: